Huh? What?

I’m standing in the middle of the tube carriage. We pull in to a station. The lady sitting down and to the left of me rises to exit. I wait for the seat to clear so that I may sit. While I am waiting a man two bodies away from the empty seat stretches out his hand and, with a gesture, offers the vacant seat to the lady standing just behind my left shoulder. The lady accepts and steps around me to take the seat. She is not old, pregnant or physically handicapped in any way. The man who facilitated the hostile takeover of the seat, no skin of his nose,  exits the tube at the next stop. I am left standing for the rest of the journey.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Minute Sketches, Blog

Leave a Reply

