Another transient moment

The train stops and the doors hiss open. We sit there waiting, it’s late, no one speaks. People leave the train and walk along the platform, their eyes fixed on the exit ahead. A girl walks past our carriage, first passing the open doors, then the windows. She’s young, short, black. She sees me watching her in the half a second it takes to pass the door and when she appears in the window I’m looking exactly at her face, and she’s looking towards me. There’s a boy walking with her who I hadn’t seen and as they walk past the first window he throws his arm around her shoulders, he looks straight ahead. At the second window her head is still turned towards me and she smiles. The sides of my mouth turn up and I smile a tiny flicker of a smile. She smiles wider and then she passes the window and I don’t see her again.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 Minute Sketches, Blog, Creative writing

Leave a Reply

